Welcome to HARD:LINE International Film Festival

Once a year, the international HARD:LINE Film Festival presents barriers and perspectives of extreme cinema and transforms Regensburg into a capital of genre and subculture. Together, films are seen, discussed, celebrated or condemned here. Over five days, contributions from the genres of horror, thriller and science fiction are shown, mostly at least as German premieres.

As a member of the Méliès International Festivals Federation (MIFF), the festival presents the coveted Méliès D'Argent Award for the best European short film entry. Many renowned guests from all over the world are invited to present their work in Regensburg and answer questions from the audience. HARD:LINE offers a platform for the darker side of cinema entertainment and presents border crossers of good taste, will-o'-the-wisps of popular genres or simply highlights beyond the mainstream.

HARD:LINE consistently celebrates the freest of all genres!

Admission to the events is strictly from the age of 18!

HARD:LINE at a glance

Ten years of finest film festival culture with thousands of visitors per year
157 films and 97 film premieres. Of which 8 world premieres, 9 international premieres, 14 European premieres and 66 German premieres.
41 filmmakers from all over the world as guests of honour at film screenings and award ceremonies

What others say about us

Das Manifest
Das Manifest Film Magazine
Read more
"The Hard:Line Festival is a pleasantly quaint film festival perfectly organised by real enthusiasts with a strong family touch, where you can have a lot of fun away from watching films!"
Filmdienst
Filmdienst Online cinema portal
Read more
"Approach the subject with a more ambitious focus."
Chad Archibald
Chad ArchibaldDirector
Read more
"One of my favourite fests in the world."
Scary Movies
Scary MoviesHorror movie web portal
Read more
"Established as an annual must-attend event for many film fans. After all, there are world and German premieres to see here every year and a unique atmosphere to experience."
Bayern 2
Bayern 2Zündfunk
Read more
"Selected with great passion and with love and connoisseurship".
Simeon Halligan
Simeon HalliganDirector
Read more
"An amazing festival."
Deadline Magazine
Deadline MagazineFilm Magazine
Read more
Extreme cinematic excesses and unique genre gems that are second to none.
Kult
KultEvent Magazine
Read more
"Above all, it's the film selection that scores points with both die-hard horror fans and true cinephiles."
Gabriel Carrer
Gabriel CarrerDirector
Read more
"Incredible, unique and punk rock."

Important links

News

Two months before its release, we present the audience favorite of the last festival as an exclusive preview in the most beautiful open-air cinema in Regensburg, the wonderful Cinema Paradiso. Under trees, by the river and with headphones. Everything is set to make a big splash on the big screen!
Slowly, the sun displaces the dark days in Regensburg and the light returns to the cathedral city. For five days, almost 1700 spectators from all over Germany indulged in the dark side of entertainment. Horror, thrillers and sci-fi from all over the world were on the agenda at the 9th HARD:LINE Film Festival, German and even world premieres were celebrated. There was discussion and judgement, both from the audience and from the three-member jury tasked with finding the winner of the prestigious Méliès D'Argent. Both the jury of experts and the fans found what they were looking for. In 2022, three awards were therefore also presented on the closing evening of the festival.
Buying tickets is supposed to be easy. And it is on our smart new website. For each film, you'll find a ticket button that takes you directly to the shop without any complicated fuss. But some like it concentrated and presented on one page in a running order. And because we know you so well and read your every wish from your lips, we've put it all together for you. You look!

Welcome to HARD:LINE International Film Festival

Einmal im Jahr präsentiert das internationale HARD:LINE Film Festival Schranken und Perspektiven des extremen Kinos und verwandelt Regensburg in eine Hauptstadt des Genre und der Subkultur. Zusammen werden hier Filme gesehen, diskutiert, gefeiert oder verurteilt. An fünf Tagen werden Beiträge aus den Genres Horror, Thriller und Science-Fiction gezeigt, zumeist mindestens als Deutschlandpremiere.

Als Mitglied der Méliès International Festivals Federation (MIFF), vergibt das Festival den begehrten Méliès D‘Argent Award für den besten europäischen Kurzfilmbeitrag. Dazu werden viele namhafte Gäste aus der ganzen Welt geladen, die ihre Arbeiten in Regensburg vorstellen und dem Publikum Rede und Antwort stehen. HARD:LINE bietet den Schattenseiten der Kinounterhaltung eine Plattform und präsentiert Grenzgänger des guten Geschmacks, Irrlichter populärer Genres oder einfach Highlights jenseits des Mainstreams.

HARD:LINE zelebriert konsequent das freieste aller Genres!

Der Zugang zu den Veranstaltungen ist strikt ab 18 Jahren!

HARD:LINE auf einen Blick

Neun Jahre feinste Filmfestivalkultur mit tausenden Besuchern pro Jahr
157 Filme und 97 Filmpremieren. Davon 8 Weltpremieren, 9 Internationale Premieren, 14 Europapremieren und 66 Deutschlandpremieren
41 Filmschaffende aus aller Welt als Ehrengäste bei Filmvorführungen und Preisverleihungen

Das sagen andere über uns

Das Manifest
Das ManifestFilmmagazin
Weiterlesen
„Das Hard:Line Festival ist ein angenehm uriges, von echten Enthusiasten perfekt organisiertes Filmfestival mit stark familiären Touch, auf dem man auch abseits vom Filmegucken viel Spaß haben kann!“
Filmdienst
FilmdienstOnline Kino-Portal
Weiterlesen
"Geht mit einem ehrgeizigeren Fokus an das Sujet heran."
Chad Archibald
Chad ArchibaldRegisseur
Weiterlesen
„One of my favourite fests in the world.“
Scary Movies
Scary MoviesHorrorfilm Webportal
Weiterlesen
„Bei vielen Filmfans als jährliches Pflichtprogramm etabliert. Schließlich gibt es hier jedes Jahr Welt- und Deutschlandpremieren zu sehen und eine einmalige Atmosphäre zu erleben.“
Bayern 2
Bayern 2Zündfunk
Weiterlesen
„Mit großer Leidenschaft und mit Liebe und Kennerschaft ausgewählt“
Simeon Halligan
Simeon HalliganRegisseur
Weiterlesen
„An amazing festival.“
Deadline Magazin
Deadline MagazinFilmmagazin
Weiterlesen
Extreme filmische Auswüchse und einzigartige Genreperlen, die ihresgleichen suchen.
Kult
KultVeranstaltungsmagazin
Weiterlesen
"Es ist vor allem die Filmauswahl, die sowohl bei eingefleischten Horrorfans, als auch echten Cineasten punktet."
Gabriel Carrer
Gabriel CarrerRegisseur
Weiterlesen
„Incredible, unique and punk rock.“

Wichtige Links

Neuigkeiten

And the winner is…

Langsam verdrängt die Sonne die dunklen Tage in Regensburg und das Licht kehrt zurück in die Domstadt. Fünf Tage lang frönten knapp 1700 Zuschauer aus der ganzen Republik den Schattenseiten der Unterhaltung. Horror, Thriller und Sci-Fi aus der ganzen Welt standen beim 9. HARD:LINE Film Festival auf dem Plan, es wurden Deutschland-, ja sogar Weltpremieren gefeiert. Es wurde diskutiert und geurteilt, sowohl vom Publikum als auch von der dreiköpfigen Jury, die den Gewinner des renommierten Méliès D’Argent zu finden beauftragt wurde. Fündig wurden sowohl die Fachjury als auch die Fans. Auch 2022 wurden daher am Abschlussabend des Festivals drei Awards überreicht.

Tickets leicht gemacht!

Tickets zu kaufen, soll easy sein. Ist es auch auf unserer schicken neuen Website. Bei jedem Film findet ihr ohne komplizierten Heckmeck einen Ticketbutton, der euch direkt zum Shop geleitet. Manche mögen’s aber geballt und auf einer Seite in einer Running-Order dargestellt. Und weil wir euch so gut kennen und alle Wünsche von den Lippen ablesen, haben wir euch alles zusammengetragen. Guckt ihr!

Abschlussabend 2022 – Fix und feddisch!

Bei all der Veränderung im Detail und im Großen des Festivals blieb uns neben unserer Ausrichtung vor allem eins erhalten: Der Abschlussabend. Eine Band, ein Film, ein Preis. Das war der Deal und ist es noch immer. Diesen Spaß lassen wir uns auch nicht von irgendeinem dahergelaufenen Virus nehmen. Fünf Tage „Kino extrem“ liegen dann hinter uns allen… und das wird gefeiert!