10th HARD:LINE Film Festival: April 6th until April 9th 2023

Achoura

Director: Talal SelhamiMorocco 201895 minutesFSK 18 (unchecked)
Ostentor CinemaSun. 29.09.201914:00German premiere
YouTube

By loading the video you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

That is what it is about

Somewhere in the Moroccan hinterland, four friends like to scare each other - for fun, of course. But then one of the children disappears without a trace in an old building. Years later, the missing person reappears unexpectedly and confronts the old clique with their dark past. With him, an almost forgotten demon returns to the lives of the four friends and feasts on innocence and joy like an everlasting, all-devouring darkness!

What you should know

Children disappear, reappear, disappear again... And then there is this sinister demon. Of course, the story is reminiscent of Stephen King's ES. But instead of simply being a cheap imitation, ACHOURA unfolds a completely different fascination: For example, the story takes place in a mystical Morocco that has not yet been seen in the genre. On the other hand, ill-tempered demons are just that little bit meaner than grinning, howling pop culture clowns.
Original title: Achoura
Rights holder: Orange Studio
Language: Original version with English subtitles
Cast: Sofiia Manousha, Younes Bouab, Omar Lotfi
Film Festivals: Brussels International Fantastic Film Festival, Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival, Cinepocalypse, Fantaspoa Film Festival, Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival, Paris International Fantastic Film Festival

Direction

After MIRAGES, ACHOURA is the second feature-length film by French-Moroccan director Talal Selhami. The young filmmaker has always had little use for the genre films from his homeland. That is why he has made it his mission to make the first real Moroccan horror film. To this end, Selhami conjures up a mythical fiend that is utterly convincing and was a welcome guest at festivals worldwide with his second film.
Acoura, Director

Our guests at the film screening

Talal Selhami

For the screening, during the festival and for the award ceremony, the likeable director Talal Selhami was a guest, who not only wore a broad grin in front of him, but was also an open interlocutor for everyone.

>> Click here for the recorded interview!

Audience Award

Achoura was voted 1st place (4.31 points) in the feature-length category by our audience at the HARD:LINE Festival 2019.

The evaluation was based on a five-point system (1 = Nope!, 5 = Yeah!).

Picture gallery

10th HARD:LINE Film Festival: Coming in April 2023

Achoura

Regie: Talal SelhamiMarokko 201895 MinutenFSK 18 (ungeprüft)
Ostentor KinoSo. 29.09.201914:00Deutschlandpremiere
YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Darum geht es

Irgendwo im marokkanischen Hinterland erschrecken sich vier Freunde gerne gegenseitig – aus Spaß versteht sich. Doch dann verschwindet eines der Kinder spurlos in einem alten Gemäuer. Jahre später taucht der Verschollene unversehens wieder auf und konfrontiert die alte Clique mit deren dunklen Vergangenheit. Mit ihm kehrt auch ein fast vergessener Dämon ins Leben der vier Freunde zurück und labt sich an der Unschuld und Freude wie eine immerwährende, alles verschlingende Dunkelheit!

Das solltest du wissen

Kinder verschwinden, tauchen wieder auf, verschwinden aufs Neue… Und dann ist da noch dieser finstere Dämon. Natürlich erinnert die Geschichte an Stephen Kings ES. Doch statt einfach nur ein billiger Abklatsch zu sein, entfaltet ACHOURA eine ganz andere Faszination: So spielt die Geschichte in einem mystischen Marokko, das man so noch nicht im Genre gesehen hat. Zum anderen sind übellaunige Dämonen einfach ein klein bisschen fieser als grinsend jaulende Popkultur-Clowns.
Originaltitel: Achoura
Rechteinhaber: Orange Studio
Sprache: Originalfassung mit Englischen Untertiteln
Cast: Sofiia Manousha, Younes Bouab, Omar Lotfi
Filmfestivals: Brussels International Fantastic Film Festival, Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival, Cinepocalypse, Fantaspoa Film Festival, Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival, Paris International Fantastic Film Festival

Regie

Nach MIRAGES ist ACHOURA der zweite abendfüllende Spielfilm des französisch-marokkanischen Regisseurs Talal Selhami. Der junge Filmemacher konnte seit jeher wenig anfangen mit den Genre-Filmen aus seiner Heimat. Deshalb hat er es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, den ersten wirklichen marokkanischen Horrorfilm zu machen. Selhami beschwört dazu einen mythischen Unhold herauf, der ganz und gar überzeugt und war nicht zuletzt deshalb mit seinem Zweitling weltweit auf Festivals ein gern gesehener Gast.
Acoura, Director

Unsere Gäste bei der Filmvorführung

Talal Selhami

Zum Screening, während des Festivals und zur Preisverleihung war der sympathische Regisseur Talal Selhami zu Gast, der nicht nur ein breites Grinsen vor sich her trug, sondern auch ein offener Gesprächspartner für alle war.

>> Zum aufgezeichneten Interview geht es hier!

Publikumspreis

Achoura wurde beim HARD:LINE Festival 2019 von unserem Publikum auf den 1. Platz (4.31 Punkte) in der Kategorie Langfilme gewählt.

Bewertet wurde im Fünf-Punkte-System (1 = Nope!, 5 = Yeah!)

Bildergalerie

Ein Projekt von
Hauptsponsor
Mitglied von
Sponsoren und Förderer
Wir woanders
Auf der Seite suchen
Nein zu Rassismus!