10th HARD:LINE Film Festival: April 6th until April 9th 2023

Splintered

Director: Simeon HalliganGreat Britain 201072 minutesFSK 18 (unchecked)
Ostentor CinemaSat. 29.09.201816:00Directors SpotlightWorld Premiere
YouTube

By loading the video you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

That is what it is about

Time and again, the news reports dead animals in the forests of Wales. Recently, however, there have been more and more reports of life-threatening attacks on humans. Hooked by the reports and full of a sense of adventure, Sophie and her friends set out to find the supposed beast. What at first seems like a classic legend soon turns out to be a fight for life and death. While escaping into an old building, Sophie is ambushed and comes face to face with the beast.

What you should know

Young directors often take the path of short films until they release their first feature film. In this case, the impact depends largely on the financial means. As a B-movie with a familiar-looking plot, Simeon Halligan's debut could almost be overlooked. But it is precisely its originality that makes this no-budget film an exciting one and already shows the talent that lies within the young director. SPLINTERED runs newly edited and arranged, for the first time at HARD:LINE!
Original title: Splintered
Rights holder: Not A Number
Language: English original version
Cast: Stephen Walters, Holly Weston, Sacha Dhawan, Sadie Pickering, Colin Tierney

Direction

As early as 1990, Simeon Halligan was listed for the first time in the credit list of a short film as art director. Since then he has put his name to countless productions and was mainly active in the TV sector until 2010. But even during his TV time, he made several short films as a director. With SPLINTERED, he made his feature film debut in 2010 and even made it into the cinema. The film also sold internationally, which opened the door for further works.
Splintered, Director

Our guests at the film screening

Simeon Halligan, Rachel Richardson-Jones

Specially re-edited, SPLINTERED was screened at the festival. After the screening, Simeon and Rachel talked to the audience about the maturation process of a filmmaker, his ambitions and future. This last appearance in the Directors Spotlight once again showed the enthusiasm with which the likeable Briton goes about his work.

>> Click here for the recorded interview!

Picture gallery

10th HARD:LINE Film Festival: Coming in April 2023

Splintered

Regie: Simeon HalliganGroßbritannien 201072 MinutenFSK 18 (ungeprüft)
Ostentor KinoSa. 29.09.201816:00Directors SpotlightWeltpremiere
YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Darum geht es

Immer wieder melden die Nachrichten tote Tiere in den Wäldern von Wales. Zuletzt allerdings mehren sich Berichte von lebensgefährlichen Angriffen auf Menschen. Von den Meldungen angefixt und voller Abenteuerlust machen sich Sophie und ihre Freunde auf, das vermeintliche Biest zu finden. Was zunächst wie eine klassische Legende aussieht, entpuppt sich bald schon als Kampf um Leben und Tod. Bei der Flucht in ein altes Gebäude gerät Sophie in einen Hinterhalt und sieht sich der Bestie gegenüber.

Das solltest du wissen

Junge Regisseure gehen oft den Weg über Kurzfilme, bis sie ihren ersten Langfilm veröffentlichen. Dabei hängt die Wirkmacht maßgeblich von den finanziellen Mitteln ab. Als B-Movie mit bekannt anmutenden Plot könnte man Simeon Halligans Debüt fast übersehen. Doch gerade seine Originalität ist es, was diesen No-Budget Film zu einem spannenden Film macht und bereits zeigt, welches Talent in dem jungen Regisseur steckt. SPLINTERED läuft neu geschnitten und arrangiert, erstmals bei HARD:LINE!
Originaltitel: Splintered
Rechteinhaber: Not A Number
Sprache: Englische Originalfassung
Cast: Stephen Walters, Holly Weston, Sacha Dhawan, Sadie Pickering, Colin Tierney

Regie

Bereits 1990 wird Simeon Halligan erstmals in der Creditlist eines Kurzfilms als Art-Director geführt. Seitdem hat er seinen Namen unter unzählige Produktionen gesetzt und war bis 2010 hauptsächlich im TV-Bereich tätig. Doch schon während seiner Fernseh-Zeit drehte er als Regisseur mehrere Kurzfilme ab. Mit SPLINTERED legte er 2010 sein Langfilmdebüt vor und schaffte es damit sogar ins Kino. Auch international verkaufte sich der Film, was ihm Tür und Tor für weitere Arbeiten öffnete.
Splintered, Director

Unsere Gäste bei der Filmvorführung

Simeon Halligan, Rachel Richardson-Jones

Eigens neu geschnitten wurde SPLINTERED beim Festival gezeigt. Simeon und Rachel sprachen nach dem Screening mit dem Publikum über den Reifeprozess eines Filmemachers, seine Ambitionen und Zukunft. Dieser letzte Auftritt im Rahmen des Directors Spotlight zeigte einmal mehr mit welchem Enthusiasmus der sympathische Brite zu Werke geht.

>> Zum aufgezeichneten Interview geht es hier!

Bildergalerie

Ein Projekt von
Hauptsponsor
Mitglied von
Sponsoren und Förderer
Wir woanders
Auf der Seite suchen
Nein zu Rassismus!