10th HARD:LINE Film Festival: April 6th until April 9th 2023

The Retaliators

Director: Samuel Gonzalez Jr., Bridget SmithUSA 202196 minutesFSK 18 (unchecked)
Ostentor CinemaWed. 06.04.202219:00Opening filmGerman premiere
YouTube

By loading the video you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

That is what it is about

As the local pastor, Bishop holds his faith high and even turns his cheek in dicey situations. This drives his two daughters up the wall. Of course, Bishop has to give in when the older one wants to go to a party. But when Sarah witnesses a serious crime, the perpetrator drives her to her death. For Bishop, a world comes crashing down. For him it is clear: he will look for the perpetrators and hunt them down. But where he goes, there are no gods. Here there is only revenge!

What you should know

What sounds like a hard-hitting revenge thriller naturally strikes a crude note and of course the film celebrates its nihilistic interior. But THE RETALIATORS also celebrates the savagery of the genre, it enjoys playing with its protagonists and the audience, and it has a blast kicking so much ass in the final act that it makes you look like a car. This film is terrific fun for crossover fans and genre geeks! What a soundtrack! What a grenade!
Original title: The Retaliators
Rights holder: Better Noise Films
Language: English original version
Cast: Joseph Gatt, Michael Lombardi, Marc Menchaca, Jacoby Shaddix
Film Festivals: Buffalo Dreams Film Festival, FrightFest, Monster Fest, Razor Reel Flanders Film Festival, Screamfest

Direction

Samuel Gonzalez Jr. is not only a director and Emmy-nominated producer. He is also an Iraq War veteran and a big fan of slightly harder rock music. That's what connects him to Bridget Smith - that and Papa Roach. While Gonzales Jr. shot the video for "The Ending", Smith devoted himself to the culture clash of Papa Roach and The Hu in the video for "Wolf Totem". Now they're teaming up for the first time with THE RETALIATORS and what comes out is as hard and strong as a well-cultivated riff!
The Retaliators, Directors

Picture gallery

Online Festival: April 14 - April 24, 2022

The Retaliators

Regie: Samuel Gonzalez Jr., Bridget SmithUSA 202196 MinutenFSK 18 (ungeprüft)
Ostentor KinoMi. 06.04.202219:00EröffnungsfilmDeutschlandpremiere
YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Darum geht es

Als örtlicher Pastor hält Bishop den Glauben hoch und sogar in brenzligen Situationen die Backe hin. Das treibt seine beiden Töchter auf die Palme. Natürlich muss Bishop dann auch mal nachgeben, wenn die Ältere auf eine Party will. Als Sarah jedoch Zeugin eines schwerwiegenden Verbrechens wird, treibt sie der Täter in den Tod. Für Bishop bricht eine Welt zusammen. Für ihn ist klar: Er wird die Täter suchen und sie zur Strecke bringen. Doch wo er hingeht, gibt es keine Götter. Hier gibt es nur Rache!

Das solltest du wissen

Was klingt wie ein knüppelharter Rachethriller, schlägt natürlich einen derben Ton an und selbstverständlich zelebriert der Film sein nihilistisches Inneres. Aber THE RETALIATORS feiert auch die Wildheit des Genres, er genießt es, mit seinen Protagonisten und dem Publikum zu spielen und er hat einen Heidenspaß daran, im letzten Akt so dermaßen auf die Kacke zu hauen, dass man guckt wie ein Auto. Dieser Film ist ein grandioser Spaß für Crossover-Fans und Genregeeks! Was für ein Soundtrack! Was für eine Granate!
Originaltitel: The Retaliators
Rechteinhaber: Better Noise Films
Sprache: Englische Originalfassung
Cast: Joseph Gatt, Michael Lombardi, Marc Menchaca, Jacoby Shaddix
Filmfestivals: Buffalo Dreams Film Festival, FrightFest, Monster Fest, Razor Reel Flanders Film Festival, Screamfest

Regie

Samuel Gonzalez Jr. ist nicht nur Regisseur und Emmy-nominierter Produzent. Er ist auch Irakkrieg-Veteran und großer Fan der etwas härteren Rockmusik. Das verbindet ihn mit Bridget Smith – das und Papa Roach. Während Gonzales Jr. das Video zu „The Ending“ drehte, widmete sich Smith dem Culture-Clash von Papa Roach und The Hu im Video zu „Wolf Totem“. Nun machen sie mit THE RETALIATORS erstmals gemeinsame Sache und was dabei herauskommt, ist hart und stark wie ein gepflegtes Riff!
The Retaliators, Directors

Bildergalerie

Ein Projekt von
Hauptsponsor
Mitglied von
Sponsoren und Förderer
Wir woanders
Auf der Seite suchen
Nein zu Rassismus!