10th HARD:LINE Film Festival: April 6th until April 9th 2023

A Field in England

Director: Ben WheatleyGreat Britain 201391 minutesFSK 18 (unchecked)
Winter gardenSat. 26.10.201322:30

That is what it is about

A field in the middle of the English Civil War: four men join forces to escape the madness of war. It is madness, however, that will set in the deserters' minds after they have eaten a home-brewed mushroom soup. Pumped full of hallucinogens, the men are of the greatest value to an Irishman believed dead. For only in this way are they of use to him in the diabolical search for a hidden treasure.

What you should know

What the hell? That's what you probably ask yourself during and after watching A FIELD IN ENGLAND. There are no adequate words to describe what Ben Wheatley conjured up here. Nor does it work to categorise the film. With a cautious attempt, one could call it "cinematic madness" or "high-definition trip". Or how about this: a sinister brew of Lars von Trier, WALHALLA RISING and SHROOMS? No! That's still far too good!
Original title: A Field in England
Rights holder: MFA+ FilmDistribution
Language: English original version
Cast: Julian Barratt Peter, Ferdinando, Richard Glover
Film Festivals: Fantastic Fest, Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, Sitges Catalonian International Fantastic Film Festival

Direction

Ben Wheatley was called a "directorial prodigy" after he debuted with his acclaimed film KILL LIST. In it, he consistently broke the rules of various genres and created a highly referential, metaphysical trip into the abysses of humanity. With his hotly anticipated SIGHTSEERS, he once again broke all expectations. However, he reached the peak of madness with his third work A FIELD IN ENGLAND, which won the top prize at the renowned Karlovy Vary Festival.
A Field in England, Director

Picture gallery

9th HARD:LINE Film Festival: April 6 - April 10, 2022

A Field in England

Regie: Ben WheatleyGroßbritannien 201391 MinutenFSK 18 (ungeprüft)
WintergartenSa. 26.10.201322:30

Darum geht es

Ein Feld mitten im englischen Bürgerkrieg: Vier Männer schließen sich zusammen, um dem Wahnsinn des Krieges zu entfliehen. Wahnsinn ist es jedoch, der sich in den Köpfen der Deserteure einstellen wird, nachdem sie eine selbstgebraute Pilzsuppe verspeist haben. Vollgepumpt mit Halluzinogenen sind die Männer einem tot geglaubten Iren von größtem Wert. Denn nur so sind sie ihm bei der teuflischen Suche nach einem verborgenen Schatz von Nutzen.

Das solltest du wissen

Was zur Hölle? Das fragt man sich wohl während und nachdem man A FIELD IN ENGLAND gesehen hat. Angemessene Worte, um das zu beschreiben, was Ben Wheatley hier heraufbeschwor, gibt es nicht. Ebenso wenig funktioniert es, den Film zu kategorisieren. Mit einem vorsichtigen Versuch könnte man ihn als „filmischen Wahnsinn“ oder „High-Definition-Trip“ bezeichnen. Oder wie wäre es damit: Ein finsteres Gebräu aus Lars von Trier, WALHALLA RISING und SHROOMS? Nein! Das ist noch viel zu brav!
Originaltitel: A Field in England
Rechteinhaber: MFA+ FilmDistribution
Sprache: Englische Originalfassung
Cast: Julian Barratt Peter, Ferdinando, Richard Glover
Filmfestivals: Fantastic Fest, Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, Sitges Catalonian International Fantastic Film Festival

Regie

Als „Regiewunderkind“ wurde Ben Wheatley bezeichnet, nachdem er mit seinem gefeierten Film KILL LIST debütierte. Konsequent brach er darin die Regeln verschiedener Genres und kreierte damit einen höchst referenziellen, metaphysischen Trip in die Abgründe der Menschheit. Mit seinem heiß erwarteten SIGHTSEERS brach er erneut alle Erwartungen. Den Gipfel des Verrückten erklomm er jedoch mit seinem Drittlingswerk A FIELD IN ENGLAND, das beim renommierten Karlovy Vary Festival den Hauptpreis gewann.
A Field in England, Director

Bildergalerie

Ein Projekt von
Hauptsponsor
Mitglied von
Sponsoren und Förderer
Wir woanders
Auf der Seite suchen
Nein zu Rassismus!