10th HARD:LINE Film Festival: April 6th until April 9th 2023

Chained

Director: Jennifer Chambers LynchCanada 201294 minutesFSK 18 (unchecked)
Winter gardenSat. 26.10.201320:00

That is what it is about

Taxi driver Bob has a dark secret. He regularly takes young women to his remote house, where he murders them brutally. When one day a nine-year-old boy also ends up in his taxi during his hunt, everything changes. He spares his life and makes him his slave. After many years of oppression, Bob develops the insane idea that the young "Rabbit" could succeed him and continue his terrible life's work.

What you should know

Staged as an intense chamber play, CHAINED demands top performances from its actors. The inflexible but nuanced acting of Vincent D'Onofrio ("Private Paula" in FULL METAL JACKET) as the ice-cold serial killer and the innocent expressions of Evan Bird and Eamon Farren as the young and old Rabbit hardly offer any surface for identification. But it is precisely this directorial trick that draws the viewer into a conflict in which the roles of victim and perpetrator are constantly mixed.
Original title: Chained
Rights holder: Capelight Pictures
Language: English original version
Cast: Vincent D'Onofrio, Eamon Farren, Evan Bird
Film Festivals: Busan International Film Festival, Fantasy Film Festival, Fantasia Film Festival, Sitges Catalonian International Fantastic Film Festival, Torino Film Festival

Direction

Jennifer Chambers Lynch had her first contact with film as a child, when she starred in the cult work ERASERHEAD (directed by her father, David Lynch). With BOXING HELENA (1993) she presented her first independent directorial work, which received great attention at the Sundance Film Festival. However, she increasingly fell into disrepute with her sometimes disjointed works and was only able to cause a stir again with the thriller CHAINED, which impressed audiences at the Fantasy Film Festival, among others.
Chained, Directress

Picture gallery

10th HARD:LINE Film Festival: Coming in April 2023

Chained

Regie: Jennifer Chambers LynchKanada 201294 MinutenFSK 18 (ungeprüft)
WintergartenSa. 26.10.201320:00

Darum geht es

Der Taxifahrer Bob hat ein dunkles Geheimnis. In sein abgelegenes Haus verschleppt er regelmäßig junge Frauen, die er dort bestialisch ermordet. Als eines Tages bei seiner Jagd auch ein neunjähriger Junge mit in seinem Taxi landet, ändert sich alles. Er verschont dessen Leben und macht ihn zu seinem Sklaven. Nach vielen Jahren der Unterdrückung reift in Bob die wahnsinnige Idee, der junge „Rabbit“ könne seine Nachfolge antreten und sein schreckliches Lebenswerk weiterführen.

Das solltest du wissen

Als intensives Kammerspiel inszeniert fordert CHAINED seine Schauspieler zu Höchstleistungen. Das unflexible, aber nuancierte Spiel von Vincent D’Onofrio („Private Paula“ in FULL METAL JACKET) als eiskalter Serienkiller sowie die unschuldigen Mienen von Evan Bird und Eamon Farren als junger und alter Rabbit bieten kaum Fläche zur Identifikation. Doch gerade dieser inszenatorische Kniff reißt den Zuschauer in einen Konflikt, in dem Opfer- und Täterrollen stets vermischt werden.
Originaltitel: Chained
Rechteinhaber: Capelight Pictures
Sprache: Englische Originalfassung
Cast: Vincent D'Onofrio, Eamon Farren, Evan Bird
Filmfestivals: Busan International Film Festival, Fantasy Filmfest, Fantasia Film Festival, Sitges Catalonian International Fantastic Film Festival, Torino Film Festival

Regie

Jennifer Chambers Lynch hatte bereits als Kind den ersten Kontakt zum Film, als sie im Kultwerk ERASERHEAD mitwirkte (Regie: Ihr Vater, David Lynch). Mit BOXING HELENA (1993) legte sie ihre erste eigenständige Regiearbeit vor, die beim Sundance Filmfest große Beachtung fand. Mit teils zerfahrenen Werken geriet sie jedoch zunehmend in Misskredit und konnte erst mit dem Thriller CHAINED wieder für Aufsehen sorgen, der unter anderem beim Fantasy Filmfest das Publikum beeindruckte.
Chained, Directress

Bildergalerie

Ein Projekt von
Hauptsponsor
Mitglied von
Sponsoren und Förderer
Wir woanders
Auf der Seite suchen
Nein zu Rassismus!