10th HARD:LINE Film Festival: April 6th until April 9th 2023

Dawn Breaks Behind the Eyes

Director: Kevin KopackaGermany 202173 minutesFSK 18 (unchecked)
Ostentor CinemaThu. 07.04.202216:00Highlight German Cinema

In stream

20.04.2022

YouTube

By loading the video you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

That is what it is about

He nags all the time. She loathes him. He is Dieter, bossy egomaniac. She is Margot, sensitive wife and heiress to a castle. There he makes a sinister discovery. A figure in the dark. A shock - he loses the car keys. For that night they are stuck. Use the time to reconcile? They can't. The clocks tick differently here. Past? Future? No such thing. And: Margot and Dieter are not alone. Someone is watching their bickering spectacle closely.

What you should know

Kevin Kopacka quotes directorial greats such as Dario Argento and Luis Buñuel in his films with stylistic confidence. He makes references to classical mythology, uses Dante's "The Divine Comedy" and Edgar Wallace in equal measure. Yet he has developed his own style. The Austrian-born director has made two feature films and four short films so far. He shows how fancy German genre fare can taste. How cool the German horror film can look. How well the giallo can suddenly speak German.
Original title: Dawn Breaks Behind the Eyes
Rights holder: Sylenteye Films
Language: Original with English subtitles
Cast: Frederik von Lüttichau, Anna Platen, Luisa Taraz, Jeff Wilbusch
Film Festivals: Another Hole in the Head Film Festival, Dracula Film Festival, FilmQuest, FrightFest, Monster Fest, Popcorn Frights Festival, Randfilmfest

Direction

Kevin Kopacka was born in 1987 in beautiful Graz, where he spent his childhood and youth. At the age of just under 19, he moved to Berlin, where he studied at the University of the Arts and left in 2013 with a Master's degree. At this point, Kopacka was no longer just exploring the play of colours through the photo camera, but was already beginning to make his first short films. DAWN BREAKS BEHIND THE EYES is his second feature-length film. With it, he plays at renowned genre festivals worldwide.
Dawn Breaks Behind the Eyes, Director

Our guests at the film screening

Kevin Kopacka (director), Lili Villányi (co-writer), Frederik von Lüttichau (actor), Lukas Dolgner (cinematographer)

Giallo in Germany? Film within a film? Excess in German cinema? Questions upon questions! These and many more can be asked after the film... and you will certainly have questions after watching perhaps the trippiest cinematic excess of recent German genre culture!

Audience Award

Dawn Breaks Behind the Eyes was voted 4th place (3.92 points) in the feature-length category by our audience at the HARD:LINE Festival 2022.

The evaluation was based on a five-point system (1 = Nope!, 5 = Yeah!).

Picture gallery

10th HARD:LINE Film Festival: April 6th until April 9th 2023

Dawn Breaks Behind the Eyes

Regie: Kevin KopackaDeutschland 202173 MinutenFSK 18 (ungeprüft)
Ostentor KinoDo. 07.04.202216:00Highlight Deutsches Kino

Im Stream

20.04.2022

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Darum geht es

Er nörgelt pausenlos rum. Sie verabscheut ihn. Er ist Dieter, herrischer Egomane. Sie ist Margot, feinfühlige Gattin und Erbin eines Schlosses. Dort macht er eine unheimliche Entdeckung. Eine Gestalt im Dunkeln. Ein Schock – er verliert die Autoschlüssel. Für diese Nacht sitzen sie fest. Die Zeit nutzen, um sich zu versöhnen? Geht nicht. Hier ticken die Uhren anders. Vergangenheit? Zukunft? Gibt’s nicht. Und: Margot und Dieter sind nicht allein. Jemand beobachtet ihr zankendes Schauspiel genauestens.

Das solltest du wissen

Stilsicher zitiert Kevin Kopacka in seinen Filmen Regie-Großmeister wie Dario Argento und Luis Buñuel. Er stellt Bezüge zur klassischen Mythologie her, bedient sich Dante’s „Die Göttliche Komödie“ und Edgar Wallace gleichermaßen. Dennoch hat er seinen eigenen Stil entwickelt. Zwei Langfilme und vier Kurzfilme hat der gebürtige Österreicher bis jetzt gedreht. Er zeigt, wie fancy deutsche Genre-Kost schmecken kann. Wie cool der deutsche Horrorfilm aussehen kann. Wie gut der Giallo plötzlich Deutsch sprechen kann.
Originaltitel: Dawn Breaks Behind the Eyes
Rechteinhaber: Sylenteye Films
Sprache: Original mit Englischen Untertiteln
Cast: Frederik von Lüttichau, Anna Platen, Luisa Taraz, Jeff Wilbusch
Filmfestivals: Another Hole in the Head Film Festival, Dracula Film Festival, FilmQuest, FrightFest, Monster Fest, Popcorn Frights Festival, Randfilmfest

Regie

Kevin Kopacka ist 1987 im schönen Graz geboren und verbrachte dort seine Kindheit und Jugend. Mit knapp 19 Jahren zog es ihn nach Berlin, wo er an der Universität der Künste studierte und 2013 mit einem Masterabschluss die Hochschule verließ. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt erforscht Kopacka nicht mehr nur das Farbenspiel durch die Fotokamera, sondern beginnt bereits erste Kurzfilme zu drehen. DAWN BREAKS BEHIND THE EYES ist sein zweiter Langfilm. Mit ihm bespielt er namhafte Genrefestivals weltweit.
Dawn Breaks Behind the Eyes, Director

Unsere Gäste bei der Filmvorführung

Kevin Kopacka (Regisseur), Lili Villányi (Co-Autorin), Frederik von Lüttichau (Schauspieler), Lukas Dolgner (Kameramann)

Giallo in Deutschland? Film im Film? Exzess im deutschen Kino? Fragen über Fragen! Diese und noch viele mehr kann man nach dem Film an die Frau und den Mann bringen… und Fragen werdet ihr ganz sicher haben, nachdem ihr den vielleicht trippigsten filmischen Exzess der jüngeren deutschen Genrekultur bestaunt habt!

Publikumspreis

Dawn Breaks Behind the Eyes wurde beim HARD:LINE Festival 2022 von unserem Publikum auf den 4. Platz (3.92 Punkte) in der Kategorie Langfilme gewählt.

Bewertet wurde im Fünf-Punkte-System (1 = Nope!, 5 = Yeah!)

Bildergalerie

Ein Projekt von
Hauptsponsor
Mitglied von
Sponsoren und Förderer
Wir woanders
Auf der Seite suchen
Nein zu Rassismus!