10th HARD:LINE Film Festival: April 6th until April 9th 2023

Dave Made A Maze

Director: Bill WattersonUSA 201781 minutesFSK 18 (unrated)
Ostentor CinemaSun. 30.09.201814:00
YouTube

By loading the video you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

That is what it is about

It stands in the middle of the flat - large, immovable and really superfluous. Anne is not very amused by the cardboard house that Dave has built. But the culprit himself has a completely different problem: he has lost his way in the structure. One by one, friends gather in the flat to witness the spectacle. They decide to get Dave out of there. But Dave has not only built a cardboard house, but a maze with a thousand dangers... and a Minotaur!

What you should know

Tight budget? Fuck it! What Bill Watterson and the entire team pack into this film in terms of creativity cannot be outweighed by money. This flick is bursting with ideas and craziness, so much so that the charm of it all gets the audience on its side after just a few seconds. You've never seen anything like it. Cardboard, cardboard, cardboard. As far as the eye can see. It's hard to put into words. That's why we have no choice but to invite you to Dave's Labyrinth. Maybe you'll get lost like we did.
Original title: Dave Made A Maze
Rights holder: Dave Made A LLC
Language: English original version
Cast: Nick Thune, Meera Rohit Kumbhani, Stephanie Allynne, Adam Busch
Film Festivals: Boston Underground Film Festival, Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival, Shivers Film Festival, Slamdance Film Festival, Slash Film Festival, Sitges Catalonian International Fantastic Film Festival, Strasbourg European Fantastic Film Festival

Direction

As an actor, Bill Watterson has already gained a lot of experience in front of the camera. He had even served as a motion-capture model and immortalised his movements in LA NOIR. But as a director he was a blank slate. That should and will certainly change after his directorial debut DAVE MADE A MAZE. His film was screened at over fifty festivals in 25 countries and not infrequently scooped the audience award. He deserves every one of these stages. We want to see more of him!
Dave Made a Maze, Director

Audience Award

Dave Made A Maze was voted 1st place (4.62 points) in the feature-length category by our audience at the 2018 HARD:LINE Festival.

The evaluation was based on a five-point system (1 = Nope!, 5 = Yeah!).

Picture gallery

9th HARD:LINE Film Festival: April 6 - April 10, 2022

Dave Made A Maze

Regie: Bill WattersonUSA 201781 MinutenFSK 18 (ungeprüft)
Ostentor KinoSo. 30.09.201814:00
YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Darum geht es

Mitten in der Wohnung steht es – groß, unverrückbar und wirklich überflüssig. Anne zeigt sich wenig amüsiert über das Haus aus Pappkarton, das Dave errichtet hat. Der Übeltäter selbst hat aber ein ganz anderes Problem: Er hat sich in dem Gebilde verirrt. Nach und nach versammeln sich Freunde in der Wohnung, um dem Schauspiel beizuwohnen. Sie fassen den Entschluss, Dave dort rauszuholen. Doch Dave hat nicht nur ein Papphaus gebaut, sondern ein Labyrinth mit tausend Gefahren… und einem Minotaurus!

Das solltest du wissen

Knappes Budget? Scheiß drauf! Was Bill Watterson und das gesamte Team an Kreativität in diesen Film packen, ist mit Geld nicht aufzuwiegen. Dieser Streifen sprüht vor Ideen und Verrücktheiten, so dass der Charme des Ganzen das Publikum bereits nach wenigen Sekunden auf seine Seite bringt. So etwas hat man noch nie gesehen. Pappe, Pappe, Pappe. Wohin das Auge reicht. In Worte ist das kaum zu fassen. Darum bleibt uns nichts anderes, als euch in Daves Labyrinth einzuladen. Vielleicht verirrt ihr euch wie wir.
Originaltitel: Dave Made A Maze
Rechteinhaber: Dave Made A LLC
Sprache: Englische Originalfassung
Cast: Nick Thune, Meera Rohit Kumbhani, Stephanie Allynne, Adam Busch
Filmfestivals: Boston Underground Film Festival, Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival, Shivers Film Festival, Slamdance Film Festival, Slash Film Festival, Sitges Catalonian International Fantastic Film Festival, Strasbourg European Fantastic Film Festival

Regie

Als Schauspieler hat Bill Watterson bereits viel Erfahrung vor der Kamera gesammelt. Selbst als Motion-Capture-Vorlage hatte er bereits gedient und seine Bewegungen in LA NOIR verewigt. Doch als Regisseur war er ein unbeschriebenes Blatt. Das sollte und wird sich nach seinem Regiedebüt DAVE MADE A MAZE sicher ändern. Auf über fünfzig Festivals in 25 Ländern lief sein Film und sahnte nicht selten den Publikumspreis ab. Jede dieser Bühnen hat er verdient. Wir wollen mehr von ihm sehen!
Dave Made a Maze, Director

Publikumspreis

Dave Made A Maze wurde beim HARD:LINE Festival 2018 von unserem Publikum auf den 1. Platz (4.62 Punkte) in der Kategorie Langfilme gewählt.

Bewertet wurde im Fünf-Punkte-System (1 = Nope!, 5 = Yeah!)

Bildergalerie

Ein Projekt von
Hauptsponsor
Mitglied von
Sponsoren und Förderer
Wir woanders
Auf der Seite suchen
Nein zu Rassismus!