10th HARD:LINE Film Festival: April 6th until April 9th 2023

What happened at the 8th HARD:LINE Film Festival

YouTube

By loading the video you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

It's kind of strange when you sit down to type these lines, as you do every year. The same procedure every year and nothing has really changed. The laptop blows and the black letters fly onto the digital page. And yet, in consciousness, everything is different. Because Corona did not pass us by without a trace - just like it did everyone else. In February we started with the preparations for the 8th HARD:LINE Film Festival. Everything was still quiet and far away, but somehow we knew that something was coming up. Soon after, we were in shock and had to make decisions without any certainties. What can we afford, what can't we? How long will cinemas stay closed? What happens if we prepare everything, invest thousands of euros and then in the end can't take place? Questions upon questions.

Step one was therefore to pick up the phone and call all our partners: "Are you still on board"? Our main sponsor, the old Penninger distillery in the person of Stefan Penninger, and our premium sponsor Christian Volkmer from Projekt 29 tapped us on the shoulder and gave us their "go". In the middle of the crisis. Nonchalantly, honestly and without batting an eyelid. Would it be possible to carry out HARD:LINE 2020 after all? The funding agencies have also signalled their support. On one condition: we have to take place, no matter what. This raised the central question: How the hell are we supposed to guarantee that it will take place 100% of the time? Online - Yes, others have done that before us. But we couldn't imagine acting completely as a streaming platform. So we thought about it, explored it and thought about it. That's how the first - and certainly only - HARD:LINE Film Festival in hybrid form came about. Half in the cinema, half on the net. The films were to be smaller, because it quickly became clear that streaming could be a problem for rights holders.

With the most secure online festival platform in the world behind us and a seemingly not so bad reputation that we have built up, the programme just ended up being fat. This year's festival is special in many ways, but basically the same as before. We have the task of presenting extreme cinema in all its facets. We are fulfilling this task again this year. Holy shit! And how we do it. The films that we are allowed to show you are planks that first have to be drilled. 12 feature films, a secret cinema screening, 16 short films, a DJ night and a concert. These are the bare figures. 24 of the 29 films shown from all over the world will celebrate at least their German premiere in Regensburg. A quota we have never had before - and in a year in which we voluntarily renounced premiere status. Because it should be good films, so that we can have a nice film festival despite this asshole of a virus. Oh yes! We will certainly have that in both senses of the word. Whether it's at the cinema or at home. That's the middle finger this virus needs. Because we're doing our thing together with you all - and without a virus. Because we didn't invite Corona to our party! But you are invited!

The films of the 8th HARD:LINE Film Festival

A total of 23 film premiere(s) in 2020. Of which 1 world premiere(s) [W]; 4 international premiere(s) [I]; 4 European premiere(s) [E]; 14 German premiere(s) [ D];

G

Guests present at the screening

The award winners of the 8th HARD:LINE Film Festival

Méliès D'Argent for the best European fantastic short film:

Audience voting:

Archive_Golden Razor Blade
Golden Razor Blade - the best feature-length films

1. DINNER IN AMERICA (4.63)
2. SLEEP (4.14)
3. AL MORIR LA MATINÉE (3.84)

Silver Razor Blade - the best short films
Archive_Silver Razor Blade

The timetable of the festival

Framework programme

Party

Sublime

This year everything was different and special. There were no public parties for a well-known reason. But besides our beloved closing night, we won't miss the fantastic DJ set by SUBLIME! Saturday is booked and because we are not allowed to move to the cinema pub due to the distance rules and the Corona regulations, the girls and boys simply play the cinema itself. The invited circle remains the same: 50 season ticket holders and that's it. Unfortunately, external people are not allowed.

But what was there to hear? Anyone who doesn't know the Local Heroes knows far too little about life and the world anyway to have said that. But for all those who don't know Regensburg, the self-description of the DJ team is simply worth reading. Because you can't put it any more aptly than that:

"An understanding of music streams outside the mainstream and a sense for the extraordinary has brought together a few people who have established an indie event series in Regensburg: Their name SUBLIME."

With this in mind: Party on!

http://sublime-music.blogspot.com/

Ghost Town Radio

Radio

But hey, we wouldn't be us if we weren't us... or something like that. In any case, we want to share our party with you at home. Maybe you've been watching films all day, ordered pizza and finished your third bottle of wine, and now you want to have a little party in your inner circle. And you know what? We can do that.
GHOST TOWN RADIO, an online radio station that has set itself the goal of delivering something special for this city, has recently been launched in Regensburg. No one-size-fits-all. No retort. Passion is at play here! And you can easily listen in and enjoy the SUBLIME party as a live stream in your living room. No matter where you are accessing it from.

https://ghost-town-radio.de/

Final evening

Shallmodule

What should a final evening with band and film in the Corona year look like, please? Admittedly, it's hard to imagine. But our strict limitation to 50 people in the cinema, the same 50 every time, allows us to organise a concert and also to present a fantastic closing film after the awards ceremony.

First of all, SHALLMODULE had made an appearance. A band we had been in contact with for a year and were more than looking forward to. It all started as a jam session in the rehearsal room. The three musicians developed their own ideas from this into unconventional, powerful compositions that underline their shared love of psychedelic, stoner rock and prog. Frank on guitar and Hammond, Marcus on bass and Pablo on drums and electronics celebrate their music sometimes proggy playful, then again tons heavy. With their instrumental, epic music, SHALLMODULE give the listener space to let go completely and immerse themselves in the "Shallmodule". Extensive jam parts alternate with complex song structures. They spin stories from true or fantastic events. Who knows for sure? The performance is rounded off by visual stimuli on the screen, presented by the band themselves and the legendary VJ Ralf Oberleitner. The result is a fabulous, monumental evening that will also be heard online, at least in parts.

https://www.facebook.com/shallmodule/

Impressions from the 8th HARD:LINE Film Festival

9th HARD:LINE Film Festival: April 6 - April 10, 2022

Das war los beim 8. HARD:LINE Filmfestival

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Irgendwie schon seltsam, wenn man sich wie jedes Jahr hinsetzt, um diese Zeilen zu tippen. Jedes Jahr das gleiche Prozedere und eigentlich hat sich nichts geändert. Das Laptop bläst und die schwarzen Lettern fliegen aufs digitale Blatt. Und doch ist im Bewusstsein alles anders. Denn Corona ging an uns nicht spurlos vorüber – so wie an allen anderen auch. Im Februar starteten wir mit den Vorbereitungen für das 8. HARD:LINE Film Festival. Da war alles noch ganz ruhig und weit weg, aber trotzdem wusste man irgendwie, dass da was auf uns zukommt. Bald darauf standen wir auch schon unter Schock und man musste Entscheidungen treffen, ohne Sicherheiten zu haben. Was kann man leisten, was nicht? Wie lange bleiben Kinos geschlossen? Was passiert, wenn wir alles vorbereiten, tausende Euro investieren und dann am Ende nicht stattfinden können? Fragen über Fragen.

Schritt eins war deshalb, das Telefon in die Hand zu nehmen und mit allen Partnern zu telefonieren: „Seid ihr trotzdem an Bord“? Unser Hauptsponsor, die alte Hausbrennerei Penninger in Person von Stefan Penninger, und unser Premiumsponsor Christian Volkmer von Projekt 29 haben uns auf die Schulter geklopft und uns ihr „Go“ gegeben. Mitten in der Krise. Nonchalant, ehrlich und ohne mit der Wimper zu zucken. Würde es doch möglich sein, HARD:LINE 2020 durchzuführen? Auch die Förderstellen haben uns ihre Mithilfe signalisiert. Unter einer Bedingung: Stattfinden müssen wir, no matter what. Das warf die zentrale Frage auf: Wie zur Hölle sollen wir ein 100%iges Stattfinden garantieren? Online – Ja, das haben andere schon vor uns gemacht. Komplett als Streamingplattform zu agieren, konnten wir uns allerdings nicht vorstellen. Also haben wir überlegt, sondiert und nachgedacht. So entstand das erste – und sicher einzige – HARD:LINE Film Festival in hybrider Form. Halb im Kino, halb im Netz. Kleinere Filme sollten es werden, denn das mit dem Streaming, so zeichnete es sich schnell ab, könnte für Rechteinhaber ein Problem sein.

Mit der sichersten Online-Festival-Plattform weltweit im Rücken und einem scheinbar gar nicht so schlechten Ruf, den wir uns aufgebaut haben, wurde das Programm am Ende aber einfach nur fett. Das diesjährige Festival ist in vielerlei Hinsicht was Besonderes, aber im Grunde doch wie gehabt. Wir haben die Aufgabe, extremes Kino in all seinen Facetten zu präsentieren. Dieser Aufgabe kommen wir auch in diesem Jahr nach. Holy shit! Und wie wir der nachkommen. Die Filme, die wir euch zeigen dürfen, sind Bretter, die man erst mal bohren muss. 12 Langfilme, ein geheimes Kinoscreening, 16 Kurzfilme, eine DJ-Nacht und ein Konzert. Das sind die nackten Zahlen. 24 der insgesamt 29 gezeigten Filme aus aller Welt feiern mindestens Deutschlandpremiere in Regensburg. Eine Quote, die wir noch nie hatten – und das in einem Jahr, in dem wir auf Premierenstatus freiwillig verzichteten. Denn gute Filme sollten es sein, damit wir trotz dieser Arschgeige von einem Virus ein schönes Filmfest haben. Oh ja! Das werden wir im doppelten Wortsinne ganz sicher haben. Egal ob im Kino oder zuhause. Das ist der Mittelfinger, den dieses Virus braucht. Denn wir machen zusammen mit euch unser aller Ding – und das ohne Virus. Denn Corona haben wir zu unserer Party nicht eingeladen! Aber ihr, ihr seid eingeladen!

Die Filme des 8. HARD:LINE Filmfestivals

Insgesamt 23 Filmpremiere(n) im Jahr 2020. Davon 1 Weltpremiere(n) [W]; 4 Internationale Premiere(n) [I]; 4 Europapremiere(n) [E]; 14 Deutschlandpremiere(n) [D]

G

Gäste anwesend bei der Filmvorführung

Die Preisträger des 8. HARD:LINE Filmfestivals

Méliès D’Argent für den besten europäischen fantastischen Kurzfilm:

Publikumsvoting:

Archiv_Golden Razor Blade
Golden Razor Blade - die besten Langfilme

1. DINNER IN AMERICA (4,63)
2. SCHLAF (4,14)
3. AL MORIR LA MATINÉE (3,84)

Silver Razor Blade - die besten Kurzfilme
Archiv_Silver Razor Blade

Der Timetable des Festivals

Rahmenprogramm

Party

Sublime

Dieses Jahr war alles anders und besonders. Öffentliche Partys gab es aus bekanntem Grunde nicht. Aber neben unserem geliebten Abschlussabend lassen wir uns auch das fantastische DJ-Set von SUBLIME nicht entgehen! Der Samstag ist gebucht und weil wir aufgrund der Abstandsregeln und den Corona-Auflagen nicht in die Kinokneipe ausweichen dürfen, bespielen die Mädels und Jungs einfach das Kino selbst. Der geladene Kreis bleibt dennoch der gleiche: 50 Dauerkartenbesitzer und das wars. Externe Leute sind leider nicht zulässig.

Doch was gabs eigentlich zu hören? Wer die Local-Heroes nicht kennt, weiß sowieso viel zu wenig vom Leben und von der Welt und überhaupt, um auch das mal gesagt zu haben. Aber allen Nicht-Regensburgern sei einfach die Selbstbeschreibung des DJ-Teams ans Herz gelegt. Denn treffender kann man es nicht formulieren:

„Verständnis für Musikströme abseits des Mainstreams und Gespür für das Außergewöhnliche hat einige Menschen zusammengebracht, die eine Indie-Veranstaltungsreihe in Regensburg etabliert haben: Ihr Name SUBLIME.“

In diesem Sinne: Party on!

http://sublime-music.blogspot.com/

Ghost Town Radio

Radio

Aber hey, wir wären nicht wir, wenn wir nicht wir wären… oder so ähnlich. Auf jeden Fall wollen wir euch zuhause auch teilhaben lassen an unserer Party. Ihr habt vielleicht dann den ganzen Tag Filme geguckt, habt euch Pizza geordert und die dritte Flasche Wein geköpft und wollt nun im engsten Kreis eine kleine Party feiern. Und wisst ihr was? Das kriegen wir hin.
Seit kurzem gibt es in Regensburg mit GHOST TOWN RADIO ein Online Radio, das sich auf die Fahnen geschrieben hat, etwas Besonderes für diese Stadt zu liefern. Kein Einheitsbrei. Keine Retorte. Hier ist Leidenschaft im Spiel! Und ihr könnt ganz einfach mitlauschen und euch die SUBLIME-Party als Live-Stream ins Wohnzimmer legen. Egal, von wo aus ihr zugreift.

https://ghost-town-radio.de/

Abschlussabend

Shallmodule

Wie soll denn so ein Abschlussabend mit Band und Film im Corona-Jahr bitte aussehen? Zugegeben, es ist schwer vorstellbar. Aber unsere strikte Beschränkung auf 50 Menschen im Kino, noch dazu immer die gleichen 50, erlaubt es uns, ein Konzert zu organisieren und nach der Preisverleihung auch einen fantastischen Abschlussfilm zu präsentieren.

Zunächst hatte SHALLMODULE ein Stelldichein gegeben. Eine Band, mit der wir schon seit einem Jahr in Kontakt standen und auf die wir uns mehr als nur freuten. Begonnen hat das Ganze als Jam-Session im Proberaum. Die drei Musiker entwickelten daraus ihre eigenen Ideen zu unkonventionellen, mächtigen Kompositionen, die ihre gemeinsame Liebe zu Psychedelic, Stoner-Rock und Prog unterstreichen. Frank an der Gitarre und der Hammond, Marcus am Bass und Pablo an den Drums und Elektronik zelebrieren ihre Musik mal progig verspielt, dann wieder tonnenschwer. SHALLMODULE geben der Zuhörerin mit ihrer instrumentalen, epischen Musik Raum, sich ganz fallen zu lassen und in die „Shallmodule“ einzutauchen. Ausschweifende Jam-Parts wechseln sich ab mit komplexen Songstrukturen. Sie spinnen Geschichten aus wahren oder fantastischen Begebenheiten. Wer weiß das schon so genau? Abgerundet wird der Auftritt durch optische Reize auf der Leinwand, präsentiert von der Band selbst und dem legendären VJ Ralf Oberleitner. So entsteht ein sagenhafter, monumentaler Abend, der zumindest in Teilen auch online zu vernehmen sein wird.

https://www.facebook.com/shallmodule/

Impressionen vom 8. HARD:LINE Film Festival

Ein Projekt von
Hauptsponsor
Mitglied von
Sponsoren und Förderer
Wir woanders
Auf der Seite suchen
Nein zu Rassismus!